.a little more about your humble narrator.

Birthdays are the best time to look at yourself and sum up some things. And I decided to make a list of random facts about me. Random facts and little habits can tell about a person more than a biography or something. So, ladies and gentlemen, this is Anch, under the microscope of publicity. Have fun.

  • I can’t divide without a calculator. I don’t know why, every teacher tried to teach me to do this – simple, actually – action, but all the attempts had no result. It’s like dyslexia, but numbers-related.
  • When I was in the kindergarden, I promised someone to marry someone. In the written form. We used to make paper wedding rings and play the “just married” promising each other to meet in the future and marry for real. Too bad I don’t remember that person, I even don’t know his name…and I’m not sure if I ever knew it.
  • I can’t definitely tell you if I’m a right-handed or a left-handed person. I write with both hands (my left handwriting is a little slower and a little more chaotic, but the right one isn’t more legible anyway) and there are things that I do better with left hand. So when I went to the music school for the first time we had to choose if I had to change the strings in order to play it on the left or not.
  • I like to write on my hands and wrists and if I need to remember to do something, notebooks and mobile reminders  are soooo inferior to this habit in effectiveness.
  • I sat in front of the computer for the first time when I was 3. I hardly could read, and I learnt to read reading menus, window-headers and icon titles. I still keep in my heart the memories about my good old Pentium-266 with 1,5 GB HDD and Windows 3.1 (then 95, then 98, then, after a night of jumping around the computer with a tambourine in my hand, Millennium.) on it – I used it until early 2006 just because I adored it so much and even considered it my childhood “friend”. And it was, actually.  Now I don’t know where it is, it has disappeared from the space under my bed this summer.
  • I grew up listening to Queen – that’s why I always shut up and sit with a smile on my face when someone starts the infamous discussion “What’s the greatest band of all time – The Beatles or Led Zeppelin?”.
  • In the childhood I wanted to be an astronomer. Last year I had serious thoughts to make my dream come true, but I don’t think I can handle Physics.
  • My biggest art-related impression in my life happened when I was 11. I went to Spain with a students’ grant and among other sightseeings there was an obligatory visit of Museo del Prado. And I saw Francisco Goya’s “Saturn devouring his son”. I stood still in front of it for 20 minutes, without moving or even breathing. It looks just weird when you see it on books or Web, but it has an incredible power in the real life.
  • I went to the same hotel in Turkey for 11 times.
  • Sometimes I write random phrases on paper money: song quotes, book quotes, thoughts, etc.
  • The only thing that can drive me into a hysteria in any occasion is Joy Division’s album “Closer”. The only thing that can get me out of any hysteria is Lorca’s “Poeta en Nueva York”.
  • I can watch the same movie for 5 or more times in the cinema. Yeah, in 2 weeks or howmanydaysdotheyscreenmovies. And it doesn’t matter if I liked it or not.
  • It’s not a revelation, but I do consider all the spiders in my house as pets and often spend hours talking to them. Just because I feel like it.
  • I buy more books than I am physically able to read. Someday I won’t have enough space to live because of books.
  • I won’t change or sell my old, strange and quite useless Monstercamera for anything, even for a normal digital camera.
  • Even though in Russia there’s no such thing as Christmas (yup, I’m serious), I celebrate it with my parents every year.

So, I think it’s time to end my self-praise and just wish myself:

Happy Birthday, Anna!

~ by Anna on October 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “.a little more about your humble narrator.”

  1. Maybe, it’s a kind of a weird gift for your bday, but I decided to make some company for you and to create my own blog on wordpress. ^_^

    Happy birthday! When will we meet? Wanna hug you! ^^”

    • I wanna hug you, too. Really. I want to improve your mood or at least try to do it. And I’ll try to find some time to meet you in the nearest future. (sorry for all i’ve said yesterday.)

Leave a Reply

 
