.viva la Zelenograd!

“It’s not raving, it’s surrealism!” – this phrase has become our motto for 3 days spent on a students’ municipal conference.

Well, a little explanation needed, I think. This conference is basically a reunion of students of the best Moscow high schools held in a small village somewhere in Moscow suburbs. More exactly, in an art students’ residence, and this fact gives you the feeling of the atmosphere that reigns there. I take part in this event for the second time, and for the second time the first rule of the conference is, you do not talk about the conference. But I’ll break this rule and share my impressions.

First of all, the thing that was guiding us through all these days was randomness. All of a sudden we were told that we were going. All of a sudden we’ve been given a very random theme (“Herbs”, yeah.) to make a small theatrical piece about. All of a sudden we’ve done it (you should believe me, it was an opus magnum of the world drama, full of political and social messages.) and went to the middle of nowhere to do and create strange things. But it didn’t matter anyway. The atmosphere there was the thing I was searching for and found in the place I never thought I’d find there.

Three days full of creativeness (and sometimes even Art), fun and productiveness. Three days full of smiles, laughter and friends. Three days of singing songs about Che Guevara and Spanish Civil War, toasting for Salvador Dalí (or dedicating poems to him), drinking (it was unable to avoid, and somebody, please remind me to never ever mix wine, beer and port in one glass) and having fun. Our obligatory “5 minutes rule” is, definitely, a thing that should be introduced everywhere: it consists of taking a 5 minutes nap after every meal, doesn’t matter if it’s breakfast or a night lunch. In three days I’ve learned: the MJ “Beat it” dance, full lyrics of “Hasta siempre Comandante”, how to write sinquians, do origami and play the main theme of “Mr. Proper” commercial. And every time someone calls me “Clover” – a nickname that was given to me because of my part in our “Herbs” play (I actually WAS a clover) – it’ll give me shivers of sweet memories.

And I’m quite jealous of students younger than me, because they’ll have the opportunity to repeat it next year. All that’s up to me is to shout “Viva la Zelenograd!” in the open window, holding a T-shirt with the logo of the conference in my hand (the famous rule of “been there, done that, got a T-shirt” works even here). Oh yeah. Here are some photos:

Our brave team

Our brave team

I'm in love with Mendeleevo skies.

I'm in love with Mendeleevo skies.

Elsa, our brain. With a Brain.

Elsa, our brain. With a Brain.

Hard work.

Hard work.

The result of that hard work.

The result of that hard work.

Nastya, contemplating amazing sunsets.

Nastya, contemplating amazing sunsets.

Mornings are hard.

Mornings are hard.

Our captain, Ezhik, during the epic 5 minutes siesta.

Our captain, Ezhik, during the epic 5 minutes siesta.

As I've said, mornings are HARD.

As I've said, mornings are HARD.

Working.

Working.

Girls.

Girls.

Mendeleevo.

Mendeleevo.

Last group photo.

Last group photo.

Back to the start.

Back to the start.

~ by Anna on October 26, 2009.

3 Responses to “.viva la Zelenograd!”

  1. gorgeous it must be =D

  2. […] (I don’t even know whose is the smaller one, as always), a pair of printed photos from my epic Zelenograd trip in October, a DVD of the movie “Salvador” that I had to give to a friend, but […]

Leave a Reply

 
